The Tailed and Tailless

Who says my cat and I can’t share thoughts?
We do it all day, all night, long. Just watch us.
Together, we follow the slant of light from the windows.
We wonder at the shiftlessness of each other’s hours.
I do it with a pen and sleep. He does it
with a paw and sleep. The processes don’t seem
all that different to me. He has a tail for balance.
I’m a little jealous of that. I only have
a tongue to twirl and try to catch myself
when I make an ill-judged leap. It’s a rather
poor substitute when it comes to balance,
to pounce, as those who know me will attest.

Leave a Reply

